A Land Without Shopping…

by Amanda

As I’m getting ready to move to a new state, I’ve been checking out the sort of shopping opportunities I’ll have once I’m there. Unfortunately the state I’m moving to is Iowa: the shopping wasteland with nary a high-end department store in the whole state.

After searching for store locations for Nordstrom’s, Macy’s, Neiman Marcus, Dillards, and Lord & Taylor, it seems that there is one, if any, of most of these stores in the whole state, and they are unfortunately all one to four hours away from where I will be moving.

I’ve seen a lot of Younkers department stores, Sears and JC Penney branches, and Targets, but look for high-end department stores, and you’re out of luck. I’m from Missouri, but COME ON, there are numerous branches of many high-end department stores statewide!

There is an Ulta reasonably close to where I’m moving, so there’s that, but where-oh-where am I supposed to see/test new seasonal makeup releases from Dior, Chanel, and Bobbi Brown (to name a few)? I suppose I’ll be a lot more dependent on my beauty blog reading in the coming months, and shopping online (thank goodness for Ebates)! If anyone knows of any good places to look at/buy high-end make-up in Iowa (but not in Des Moines), please let me know!
__________
In the interest of disclosure, the link in the above post is not an affiliate site, and it is not a link to the site that will benefit me in any way (i.e. invite link).

