Review: Alison Raffaele Soft Shadows

by Amanda

I’ve had these shadows for quite some time, but hadn’t gotten around to reviewing them, yet!

I bought these from a sale on Hautelook a few months ago for $4.88 each, but they sell for $19.50 on beauty.com. These are 0.11 oz. The colors I own are Moonlight (shimmer), Warm Grey (matte), and Taupe (matte).

Packaging:

These come in cute, lightweight, lilac purple plastic round compacts with a flower design on the top. The compact itself has a moderately good clasp; it holds the shadow shut well, but can be difficult to open. There is a mirror on the inside. The back has a sticker with the shadow name and some information (no ingredients, though).

Product:

I was very surprised with this product when I received it after reading the rave reviews on Makeup Alley. With the shadows themselves, on me, the mattes were chalky and not very pigmented. Moonlight was okay formula-wise, but the color doesn’t really show up on my skin tone. Maybe I got some rejects or am missing something?

I was also surprised that being called “Soft Shadow”, the product wasn’t softer. The texture of it is silky to the touch, but is hard in the sense that I feel like I have to really swipe my brush or sponge hard to get enough product to show up.

The colors themselves aren’t bad if unoriginal (though I feel that Taupe isn’t really taupe), they just aren’t pigmented enough to warrant using them for me. They are layer-able, but why layer when I have other products that don’t require that. Moonlight is the only one I’ve used more than once or twice because it does work nicely as a highlighter. I really wanted these shadows to work as I love some of the other products in the Alison Raffaele line, but for me, they were really a miss.

Swatches (these are as dark as I could swatch these colors with sponges, brushes didn’t work; there are probably ~5 heavy layers of each shadow. Click to enlarge):

L-R: Moonlight, Warm Grey, Taupe

Overall:


I gave them a 1.5/5. The packaging is nice, and I only paid $4.88 for these. Moonlight I do somewhat like, but the matte shades I really do not. I would probably rate these less if I had paid full price as they would likely have been returned.

